Bar of the Week: Untitled Chicago

untitledGrowing up there was always this part of me that wish I ‘d been born in the 30’s or 40’s. Looking back on it now, I think it’s safe to say; that the reason for this desire of mine can be contributes to my grandmother. My grandmother loved Nick at Nite! We spent a great deal of time bonding over shows like, I Dream of Jeannie, I Love Lucy, and Bewitched. I was completely fascinated with how simple life seemed during that time period. The world that was parade in the sitcoms that I mentioned, didn’t account for the type of things that were actually going on in the United States when many of those shows were on the air. But as a kid I tried (to no avail) to convince my grandmother that times were so much easier back then. Needless to say, once I started taking history classes it became very clear to me that my grandmother was absolutely correct.  However, anytime that the chance arises for me to enjoy movies, music, or stories from the era, I take full advantage of it.

untitled 2A few months ago my friend decided that celebrating her birthday at Untitled was something that she couldn’t live without doing. Untitled  is a Speak easy, so my enter 20’s was tingling inside. Just in case you are wondering what a Speak Easy is, I’ll help you out. During the Prohibition Era there were secret bars setup around the city that sold alcohol, this includes anything from basements to warehouse. From the moment that we walked into Untitled, I was completely amazed by the atmosphere. There was a live band playing music from the 30’s and 40’s, and Charlie Chaplin movies playing on a huge television. The bartenders wore uniforms that you would expect a bartender from that era to wear, which made for an even more exciting experience. The best part about this place is the endless amount of whiskey to choose from. And if you don’t know much about fine whiskey, then the bartenders are very knowledgeable  and had no problem answering all of the ridiculous  questions that me and my friends asked. The menu features a wide array of small plates, which worked out well for my group. By the end of the night it was clear that Untitled had won all of us over and made one little birthday girl very happy. Have recommendations?  Go ahead… Leave a comment

Why Go:  Amazing selection of whiskey, great atmosphere, and perfect for dates.

Recommendations:  Go on the weekends otherwise it’s more of a restaurant setting,  Try the Pork Belly Confit, and the doors are unmarked so try not to miss the place.  

   -Cheers-

Leave a Reply

